Carpe Aeternum

Finding the Eternal in the Every Day

Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 7

In the Vineyard (the denomination that I attend) they often bounce around this phrase: Faith is spelled R-I-S-K.  Actually taking some sort of a risk is promoted, typically in a realm where it puts our faith on the line and we have to expect God to do what scriptures say he’ll do.

My last post here I mentioned that I want to try to take more risks. So, as a good Vineyard boy, I should be doing churchy things to accomplish that. And in some ways, that is a good place to start.  The idea of praying for people and expecting God to make a difference always stretches me. Even if I’m comfortable with the concept, the environment and the person being prayed for, I still feel a little worried that it won’t turn out the way I want.  The way I want shouldn’t be the issue, but what God will do for the person we are lifting in prayer should matter, but I focus more on what I want. Like not looking stupid.

So, again, this is a decent springboard for me. If for nothing else, taking the risk of looking stupid in order to see if God will interact in someone’s life.  But I think some slightly bigger risks might be in order. Like accepting the opportunity to preach in two weeks.

I am one of those odd people who like to speak in public. I get nervous and I worry about what to say, but it’s fun to d while I’m doing it. I look forward to it. But there is always the fear boiling inside of me that I have nothing of significance to say. Or that even if I do that my audience will not understand it or care. In short I fear that my efforts, though fun, will be pointless.

But beyond that, and maybe this is one of those for the future things, is meeting people. Quite honestly, I’d rather speak in public than meet people. I hate meeting people. It is too personal. Speaking to a group is a bit removed and not as risky because of that. If they don’t like me it’s they. If I meet you and you don’t like me, that is a tangible real person; you are not they. So someday, as this “taking risks to develop the ability to take bigger risks to tell a better story grows out of me trying to get a life”, I will have to meet some people. I will have to man up and make some new friends. Or enemies. Or more likely, acquaintances.

So, baby steps. Risky baby steps aiming toward that eventual big leap. God, have mercy on me.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 7

  1. Alex Hedgepeth on said:

    I look forward to where this risk taking takes you.
    Blessings friend,
    Alex

  2. Brad,

    A book for you to consider reading is: “The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe” by Lynne Mctaggart. It’s a book that explains basic principles of quantum physics for the lay reader, and it provides strong scientific support for the notion of healing through prayer. Another set of books to look at are those written by Danah Zohar and her husband, Ian Marshall. She’s a physicist and he’s a psychologist, and they explain in (mostly) easy-to-understand terms many ways that quantum physics principles apply to a new understanding of self and society. Quantum physics gives scientific support to ideas about God.

Leave a Reply

