Carpe Aeternum

Finding the Eternal in the Every Day

Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 9

So this choosing story thing isn’t as brilliant as I expected. I still love the idea. I even like the idea of embracing risk as a means to a better story. The problem lies in the action, the doing, and the truly living this thing out.
Life is full of crap and mundane tasks that eat up so much of my day. I keep hearing people refer to the book Good to Great by Jim Collins and the concept of putting aside the good things in life or business to pursue the great things. The main idea is that bad is rarely the enemy of great. Good is. The good things we constantly choose interfere with our attempts to strive something great. I have yet to read the book, but so many people are referring to it lately that I need to check into it.
The concept however, seems to be close to my life though. My earlier laments about lack of direction have mostly stemmed from choosing good things rather than making appropriate sacrifices to achieve great things. Or at least greater things than I have.
Instead, I have lived like Forest Gump, just moving through life, letting things happen to me and then responding to them. Somewhere inside me, there has to be that movie hero that stops letting things happen and starts making things happen. That would be a great thing to shape my story into something truly worth living.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 9

  1. Brad,

    I believe the biggest risk in life is to dare to be your real self.

Leave a Reply

