Carpe Aeternum

Finding the Eternal in the Every Day

Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 11

Many years ago, I read Thinking Body, Dancing Mind, by Chungliang Al Huang and Jerry Lynch. It is a great look at how our minds and bodies work together. The authors make a case for using this unifying force in exercise and sports to reach new levels of success and performance. They keep referring to the “Zen Warrior” as a concept of how we need to learn to move beyond our current paradigm of competition and that our ultimate opponent in ourselves. With this in mind, we move beyond being the best and into being the best we can be.
For a while now, I have been aware that I am my own worst enemy. I surrender far too readily, choosing comfort over challenge. Rather than do the hard work needed to endure and overcome, I often start the hard work and then give into tiredness or more often laziness. My college football coach used to tell us that fatigue makes cowards of us all. I have been quite cowardly over the last ten years or so. I’ve had moments of power and courage and passion but they have been quickly drowned by life and hassle and hardness. Difficulty is a nemesis that I fear.
I hate that I have become this. I hate my life as it is. Something needs to change.
And it seems that there are dozens of voices out there calling me to the thing that is my answer to overcome, my new primary objective. They say their risk is the risk I need to take to begin living again. In concept they are right; risk is the right vehicle. I’m just not sure that any of the roads they offer are the right one for my risk journey.
I think this because in these opportunities, I am still my enemy. I need to push past that until I become my opponent, my rival. When I become the thing that pushes me to try harder, to see how much farther I can go or how much higher I can reach, that will be the right road. In that environment even though I am against me, I am also pushing me. I am both on my side and the thing to overcome at once.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

