Carpe Aeternum

Finding the Eternal in the Every Day

Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 22

I frequently hear the quote that has become a cliché “insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.” Isn’t that the definition of perseverance too? If you don’t give up, if you stand up and try again, isn’t that expecting different results from the same thing? Isn’t that believing that if I keep doing this same thing I will eventually break through to something new and different? Isn’t that insanity?
Granted, part of the idea of being persistent is that as I fail and start again, I (hopefully) learn from the failures. As I stand up again, I need to assess what has happened. Why did I fail? Is it something I can control and change? How can I try differently next time?
But there is power in erosion. Nothing changes in terms of the effort involved. It is constant, ongoing repetition that brings about the desired result, the change. Is that insanity? Or is that wisdom and patience?
Most days I think being persistent is lunacy. Most days, I am lazy and that is the true driving force away from persistence. I just don’t like change. I want the results of the change but I hate changing. So, am I crazy to keep trying? Am I strong enough to be crazy to get to my ultimate goal?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Brad Bellmore Gets a Life – 22

  1. Good thoughts! Thanks Brad!

Leave a Reply

